Police, Car, and Life Lessons

I never thought when I woke up today that it would include a trip to the police station.12046861_735262312375_1689410754344088596_n

Matt and I stopped at the grocery store to get a few groceries and when we came back out we discovered our car had a hulk sized fist dent in the bumper. For a minute we stood there totally confused until it registered that someone had hit our car and left the scene of the accident.

The first words out of Matt’s mouth were, “Hey! Now we can both say we’re victims of hit and runs.”

After a few moments we started laughing.

When I got off the phone with our insurance company we were told we had to go to the nearest police precinct to file a hit and run report. When we arrived I told the officer who took our statement that I had never been in a Police Station before. He me asked if it was everything I dreamed it would be and I told him it was, just with fewer criminals and better lighting.

Currently we are waiting to find out what next steps are. I’m incredibly grateful this time it was our car that took the hit instead of Matt. While Matt won the round of Man Vs. Machine it isn’t something I would want to go through again. Super- villains beware! 😉

Value people over possessions.

Choose forgiveness instead of bitterness.

Every time a character building opportunity comes along embrace it and grow as much as you can from it. Finding humor when things go awry is key to having joy even in the midst of less than ideal situations. I’m grateful to be partnered with someone who can laugh with me when curve balls are thrown our way.

At the end of the day, all that matters is that those you love are safe, healthy, and with you.

10612590_10154739631745710_7643212279022305124_n

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

